I’ve found Heaven.

And it’s called Sziget festival.

I ordered my tickets a few weeks ago, knowing that it would be worth it at any rate. For those who don’t know what I’m talking about: Sziget festival is a week-long festival on an island in the center of Budapest, Hungary. Over 60 stages featuring more than 1000 bands and other kinds of performances, with an average of 60.000 visitors a day. You’ll find pretty much any nationality on that island.

Some of the bands for this year are Tool, Chemical Brothers, Nine Inch Nails, The Killers, Madness, The Hives, Faithless, Babylon Circus, Eagles of Death Metal, Hooverphonic, Soulfly…and it just keeps going on. Hooah!

I was just reading a bit more into the articles about last years edition, and found out about some awesome stuff: They have bumpercarts, bungee-jumping, shooting ranges, climbing towers, archery ranges, a swimming pool, their own banks and pharmacies, a proper sewer system, and everything is cheap as fuck.

Let’s compare: One beer (0,2l) at Lowlands festival here in the Netherlands costs about €2,00. And that’s cheap, horrid festival beer, which is basically cheap beer, but watered down. Now, at Sziget, half a liter of decent beer costs €1,20. See what I’m getting at?
Absolutely everything is cheap: drinks, food, even the band merch is cheaper!

Another great feature: the campingsites. On Lowlands, there’s about 6 campsites; the higher the number, the farther away from the festival terrain. On Sziget, you can just drop down your tent anywhere, as long as it isn’t in front of the stages or on walkingpaths. Just find a nice spot and drop your stuff, you’re settled.
And: There’s a swimmingpool! ON THE ISLAND! Combine that with hot weather and lots of girls in bikinis, and you’ve got yerself the biggest beachparty ever.

And I’m going there. Come get me, bitch.

P.s.: I’ve got room for one other person in my tent. Ladies?

~ by freudianzombie on June 11, 2007.

2 Responses to “I’ve found Heaven.”

  1. […] remember, I wrote a bit about this festival a while ago. For those who have Alzheimers and such, here’s where you can find that post.  I read that they’ve got PC’s set up with teh interwebs on them, so I’ll be […]

  2. […] in on Sziget As most of you will know, I’m going to Sziget festival in Budapest, Hungary this year. I’m incredibly excited about going, since it’s my first […]

Leave a Reply

 
