The Race Track Story

Some days, I love my job. I fill in as cameraman for the local TV network around here every once in a while. The other day, they phoned me to ask if I wanted to report a race. I said sure, let me know when to be where.

Two days later the reporter, lets just call her Ally so that I don’t get sued or anything, called me to tell me I had to be at the office at 9am that Sunday. So I went to the office at 8:45am that Sunday. Up untill the moment I arrived there, I had no clue of what was going to happen. Ally informed me that we were going to shoot a portrait of two drivers from town, who just recently joined this team. The race turned out to be the Dutch Supercar Challenge. The guys we were interviewing drove for a Porsche team.
On the way there we had to tag along with two fratboys. At first, we thought this was horrible, but then we found out that they were driving a very fancy BMW, and that their average speed on the highway was about 210km/h, which peaked at 255km/h.

When we arrived at the Spa-Francorchamps racing circuit, one of the coolest circuits around I’m told, we headed for the Porsche tent. We did a quick interview with the drivers, Koen and Nik, and then we headed to the tracks. Or rather, we thought we were heading to the tracks. When we got there, it turned out that we were right in the middle of the pitlane. For the total racing illiterates: that’s where the cars get touched up during a race.
We interviewed the drivers again, and then the signal went for the cars to head for the tracks.
This was pretty much the best part of the day: about 20 or 30 cars were heading for the grid, and I, with my camera, was walking down that very grid ( Again for the illiterate: the bit with the lines that show the cars where they have to stand for the start), alongside the cars, to getsome wicked shots. I was still walking along the track, which was about two feet to my left, when the race actually started. Yeah baby, sometimes it’s good to be me.

That’s really pretty much it for the exciting part of the day. There were some more races, but we spent most of the day following the two drivers around. Then we headed home, stopped at a cafe and a restaurant before we actually got home, because the guy who was paying for everything wanted to eat and see the Formula 1 races on TV. We hitched a ride with the same two fratboys again, who were actually pretty cool, and the average speed hovered around 200km/h again. Wicked.

So basically, I had a whole day of unlimited acces to one of the coolest racing circuits in the world, I had plenty to drink and eat all day, it was all for free, and I get paid to this stuff.

How can I not love this job?

Edit: Here’s the portrait we made of the two drivers. 

~ by freudianzombie on June 18, 2007.

3 Responses to “The Race Track Story”

  1. Hey Rutger,

    We do have a very cool job!!! Everybody is soooo jealous!!!

    See you soon,
    Ally

  2. I LIKE YOUR JOB! GIMME! I will trade you for a gold star…… yes?

  3. […] the local TV station calls me to ask if I can fill in for a couple of days. If you’ve read the Race Track Story, you’ll know that I’m a cameraman and that I sometimes get to go places. Awesome […]

Leave a Reply

 
