The Simpsons Movie

I went to see it a short while ago, because my brother and his girlfriend were going and didn’t mind me tagging along. All in all, it overcame my expectations. I’m a moderate fan of the series and I hoped they ket to that formula, unlike some other movies I’ve seen before.
I’ve seen it happen that a series got their own film, but then the film completely missed the goal, being that it didn’t conserve the ‘magic’ that made the series. The Simpsons nailed it though. It started with some blunt remarks towards the people in the movietheater (At an Itchy & Scratchy movie, Homer stands up, turns towards the audience and says something like ‘Why are we paying to see something we get for free on our TVs?’), and throughout the movie there’s plenty of subtle stabs at Fox as usual.

The story itself is, in all it’s ridcule, a good one. Of course, it’s still the Simpsons, so don’t expect anything serious, but even for those standards i’s not half bad. Top it off with some funnies during the end titles, like the Springfield ‘anthem’ (Some made up words on the French anthem’s melody) and you’ve got yourself a fun night out. I definately recommend it to everyone. 4 out of 5.

~ by freudianzombie on August 29, 2007.

One Response to “The Simpsons Movie”

  1. I watched it some days ago in the theater and it was really amazing!

Leave a Reply

 
