1408

Usually, when I hear there’s a new Stephen King-based movie, I’m a bit sceptic. Not that there’s anything wrong with them, and I’m a big fan of his books, but most of the time those movies just don’t get quite to that point where they’re actual good movies. There’s a few, of course, Dreamcatcher did the trick, but mostly I think about movies like Cujo, It, the Stand, all good movies in essence, but not quite there yet. I had also read the short synopsis on the back of the bundle ‘1408’ is featured in, and I wasn’t all that enchanted by it. Guy, hotelroom, spooky stuff. I’ve read the Shining, you know.

Last friday though, I felt like seeing a movie, so I called a friend and told her I wanted to see Hairspray, kinda. Shut up, I defend myself by saying once again that I like bad movies. She didn’t want to see it though, so I looked through the other options. 1408 was one of them, so I decided to give it a shot and checked out the trailer. I was pleasantly surprised. First off, John Cusack took the lead, which is usually a good thing. Samuel L. Jackson was also in it, which is usually a good thing. The effects didn’t look half bad, which is usually a good thing. And the weird bits they showed got my attention, which is a good thing.

So we went to see 1408. It was awesome. Front to end there was only one moment where I got a bit upset, but then it turned out they had played a trick and everything went back to A-OK. It was uncomfortably freaky at times, and it’s been months since I didn’t hear one single thing in a movietheater during the silent parts of the movie. You could literally hear a pin drop. All in all I’d have to say that this is one of the good Stephen King movies, even better than Dreamcatcher,  and I had a good time seeing it. It’s been a fair while since the last time I got startled more than once. Good times, five out of five.

Next time, it’ll be either Paris Je T’Aime, which I want to see really badly, or Planet Terror. Stay tuned for more useless movie reviews. At least I don’t give away the plot.

</rutger>

~ by freudianzombie on September 8, 2007.

2 Responses to “1408”

  1. Yay useless movie reviews!!!!!!

  2. Useless? Useless!? How dare you call my jewels useless!? Rarara!

Leave a Reply

 
